

Professional Appraisers Association of SD

Friday, January 22, 2021 PAASD Annual Membership Meeting Chamberlain, SD – Arrowwood Resort at Cedar Shore

The meeting was called to order by President Mary Houk at 12:05pm, MST, virtually, via Zoom.

Guests were welcomed and dual members of the SD Chapter of ASFMRA were given recognition.

Guests Sherry Bren, the Executive Director of the South Dakota Appraiser Certification Program, and Barry Wilfahrt, PAASD and SD Chapter of ASFMRA lobbyist, were recognized.

Motion: (Bill Bear) To approve the minutes of the past meeting as written. Seconded by Scott Kopplin.

Motion passed.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Finance Committee

Craig Steinley gave the Treasurer's report. The 2020 Financial Reports and the 2021 approved budget were presented to the membership.

Motion: (Chuck Ferraro) To acknowledge receipt of the 2020 Financial Reports and the 2021 approved budget. Seconded by Randy Vance. Motion passed.

Membership Committee

Charlotte Deaver gave the Membership Committee update. The number of members for 2020 was 140.

Education Update

In 2020 PAASD offered:

At the 2020 Annual Meeting, January 15th and 16th:

- <u>VA Home Loan Guaranty Program and The Residential Marketplace</u> with a total of 38 in attendance.
- <u>2020-2021 7-Hour National USPAP Update Course</u>, with a total of 85 in attendance.

In November 2020, in lieu of a Fall Conference, a virtual class was offered:

• <u>Evaluations: Understanding the Brand New Product/Service That SD</u>

<u>Appraisers Can Offer Their Clients</u>, with a total of 85 in attendance virtually.

And, finally, <u>The Training Course For Supervisory Appraisers and State-Registered</u>
<u>Appraisers</u> was offered four times in 2020 with a total of 50 attendees.

The 2021 Fall Conference will be held in October in Deadwood, SD. The offering has not yet Page 2

been determined.

The 2022 Annual Meeting will again be held in Chamberlain at Arrowwood Cedar Shore, tentatively scheduled for Thursday and Friday, January 20 and 21, 2022.

Public Relations Committee

No 2021 Fundraising or Social Event was held due to a virtual conference.

SPECIAL COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Government Affairs Committee

Craig Steinley gave an update about the Government Affairs Fund.

He then introduced Sherry Bren, the Executive Director of South Dakota Appraiser Certification Program. She spoke to those attending the virtual PAASD membership meeting and gave an update on HB1015 – a bill to provide rule-making authority for establishing an appraiser experience training program and setting fees. SD Department of Labor and Regulation carried the bill.

Barry Wilfahrt spoke briefly about the bill and noted there appeared to be no opposition, but PAASD will be a proponent of the bill.

Website

PAASD is still working on upgrades to non-public side of the website. We are hoping to find a way to track member payments and post on their profile.

Scholarship

Sandra Gresh gave an update on the Scholarship Fund.

No PAASD Professional Development Scholarship applications were received in 2020 for 2021 awards.

The Denny Wagner Memorial CE Scholarships will be drawn after the February 19, 2021, seminar

NEW BUSINESS:

None

OLD BUSINESS:

PAASD's strategic plan is still being refined.

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

There were two nominations for the 1-year Director position: Scott Kopplin of Spearfish, SD, will be on the PAASD Board from 2021 to 2022.

There was one nomination for the 2-year Director position: Bill Bear of Rapid City, SD, will be on the Board from 2021 to 2023.

There were three nominations for the two 3-year Director positions: Marshall Miller of Sioux Fall, SD, and Marv Siebrecht of Aberdeen, SD, will be on the Board from 2021 to 2024.

The other Directors on the Board are:

Page 3

Charlotte Deaver, Winner, SD, will be on the Board until 2022. Peggy Kalt, Aberdeen, SD, will be on the Board until 2022. Brooke Newstrom, Rapid City, SD, will be on the Board until 2023.

The officers for 2021-2022 are:

Sandra Gresh, President (Elected by the BOD at their October 1, 2020, virtual Board meeting)
Amy Frink, Vice-President (Elected by the BOD at their October 1, 2020, virtual Board meeting)

Mary Houk, Past President Craig Steinley, Secretary/Treasurer (completing third year of a three-year term)

The election was held via electronic software called Election Runner.

President Mary thanked Adam Lalim, Brian Schmidt, and Mary Siebrecht for their past service to the Board as they completed their terms this year. She then welcomed, Scott Kopplin, Bill Bear, and Marshall Miller to the 2021 Board. And welcomed back Mary Siebrecht to the 2021 Board.

At this time, Mary Houk turned the gavel over to Sandra Gresh (virtually).

As her first official duty, President Gresh virtually presented Mary Houk with a President's plague and thanked her for the past two years of leadership.

There being no further business, President Sandra Gresh called for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Motion: (Marv Siebrecht) To adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Scott Kopplin. Motion passed.

Meeting adjourned at 12:50pm Mountain Time.

Respectfully submitted,

Bev Luke PAASD Executive Secretary